BIODIVERSITY VALUING

"The aim of BioVal is to explore how negative impacts of food production and consumption on biodiversity can be reduced and have positive impacts in-stead."

BioVal develops solutions to reduce negative impacts on biodiversity from food along the life cycle. Together with companies, the project investigates how they can contribute to the promotion of biodiversity along product life cycles, integrate this into their management and communicate it. Therefore, measures will be developed and tested.

The main results of BioVal are recommendations for increasing biodiversity along food product life cycles as well as solutions for companies for integrating biodiversity into management systems and tools and into business-to-business as well as business-to-consumer communication that have been tested in living labs.

In addition, the further development of the impact assessment method for terrestrial biodiversity in life cycle assessment (LCA) and the new development of a method for impact assessment of marine biodiversity will provide input to the international discussion on methods.

What actually is biodiversity?

What actually is biodiversity?

Biological diversity – or biodiversity – is a term that became known primarily through the entomologist Edward Osborne Wilson. In his publication “Biodiversity” published in 1988, he proposes to treat biodiversity as a global resource that needs to be protected and indexed [1]. Biodiversity as a concept does not only exist in biology or ecology, but early on aimed to address in particular policy makers and the general public. From the first mention, biodiversity has been associated with the protection and conservation of nature [2, 3, 4]. The term biodiversity has a variety of definitions. Since the United Nations (UN) Conference on the Environment in Rio de Janeiro in 1992, biodiversity has been defined as the “variability among living organisms from all sources, including, inter alia, terrestrial, marine and other aquatic ecosystems and the ecological complexes of which they are part. This includes diversity within species, between species and ecosystem diversity” [5, 6]. The Millennium Ecosystem Assessment (MEA) defines biodiversity as the “diversity of life on Earth”, which includes the “diversity of all organisms, whether plants, animals or microorganisms, the diversity within and between species and populations, and the diversity of ecosystems” [7].

The integrity of biodiversity is a crucial factor in the functioning of any global ecosystem. A healthy state of biodiversity is not only necessary to keep nutrient cycles and abiotic fluxes running, but also to ensure the provision of ecosystem services. The loss of ecosystem services is likely to have negative impacts on human health.

[1] Wilson (1988): Wilson, E.O. 1988. Biodiversity. Washington (DC) : National Academies Press (US), 1988. ISBN: 0-309-03739-5
[2] Nentwig et al.
(2007): Nentwig, W., Bacher, S. und Brandl, R. 2007. Ökologie Kompakt. Berlin Heidelberg : Springer Verlag, 2007. ISBN: 978-3827418760
[3] Heinrichs, et al. (2014): Heinrichs, H. und Michelsen, G. 2014. Nachhaltigkeitswissenschaften. Berlin Heidelberg : Springer Verlag, 2014. ISBN: 978-3642251115
[4] Härdtle (2002): Härdtle, W. 2002. Studium der Umweltwissenschaften: Naturwissenschaften. Berlin Heidelberg : Springer Verlag, 2002. ISBN: 978-3540410829
[5] CBD (2005):
CBD. 2005. Handbook of the Convention on Biological Diversity. Montreal : Secretariat of the Convention on Biological Diversity, 2005. ISBN: 92-9225-011-6.
[6] UNEP (1992):
UNEP. 1992. Convention on biological diversity: Text and annexes. Geneva : UNEP, 1992.
[7] MEA (2005):
MEA, Millennium Ecosystem Assessment. 2005. Ecosystems & human well-being – synthesis. Washington : Island Press, 2005.

Social values

The aim of this research module is to collect social values on biodiversity and food production and the awareness of the connection between food production and biodiversity in Germany.

Impact assessment of biodiversity

The aim is to optimise the impact assessment of biodiversity in LCA in a practical way and to add diffuse effects and aquatic biodiversity.

Biodiversity in companies

Together with the companies FRoSTA AG, Alfred Ritter GmbH & Co. KG and Seeberger GmbH, living labs are being used to work out how the effects of corporate and production processes on biodiversity along the food value chain can be better recorded and taken into account in decisions.

Transdisciplinary integration

The goal of transdisciplinary integration is to bring together the knowledge from the three research modules and to develop it further together with the living lab companies and other companies, for example in the biodiversity working group.

Formative evaluation

The BioVal research project will be evaluated on an ongoing basis to ensure that the transdisciplinary integration succeeds and has an impact.

News

Vision on the social impact – Reallabor Seeberger GmbH

Uncategorized
Seeberger is investigating how biodiversity can be integrated into supplier management so that biodiversity on agricultural land is better protected and promoted in the future. You can read about the planned output and societal impact with the transdisciplinary collaboration in the BioVal project in “Seeberger’s Impact Story” (german only).

Social Impact – Vision of FRoSTA AG

Uncategorized
Together with FRoSTA, the living lab “Biodiversity at product level” pursues the goal of integrating biodiversity at the management level into its merchandise management system in order to accompany practically implemented projects in a scientifically sound manner. You can read about the results and the planned societal impact of the…

Ritter Sport – Vision on social impact

Uncategorized
As one of the living labs in the BioVal project, Ritter Sport has set itself the goal of reviewing and further developing the existing target systems for raw materials with regard to biodiversity impacts in raw material procurement in order to contribute to the stabilization or promotion of biodiversity. You…

BIODIVERSITY VALUING

„Ziel von BioVal ist es, zu erforschen, wie negative Auswirkungen der Produktion und des Konsums von Lebensmitteln auf Biodiversität verringert werden und diese stattdessen positive Wirkungen entfalten können.“

BioVal erarbeitet Lösungen, um negative Auswirkungen auf Biodiversität durch Lebensmittel entlang des Lebenswegs zu verringern. Gemeinsam mit Unternehmen wird eruiert, wie sie zur Förderung von Biodiversität entlang von Produktlebenszyklen beitragen, dies im Management verankern und kommunizieren können. Hierzu werden Maßnahmen entwickelt und erprobt.

Hauptergebnis von BioVal sind Empfehlungen zur Steigerung von Biodiversität entlang von Produktlebenszyklen von Lebensmitteln sowie in Reallaboren erprobte und getestete Lösungsangebote für Unternehmen zur Integration von Biodiversität in Managementsysteme und -tools sowie in die Business-to-Business und Business-to-Consumer-Kommunikation.

Zudem wird durch die Weiterent­wicklung der Wirkungsabschätzungsmethode zu terrestrischer Biodiversität in der Ökobilanz (Life Cycle Assessment, LCA) sowie der Neuentwicklung einer Methode zur Wirkungsabschätzung von mariner Biodiversität Input in die internationale Methodendiskussion gegeben.

Was ist eigentlich Biodiversität?

Was ist eigentlich Biodiversität?

Biologische Vielfalt – oder Biodiversität – ist ein Begriff, der vor allem durch den Entomologen Edward Osborne Wilson bekannt wurde. In seiner Veröffentlichung „Biodiversity“ von 1988 schlägt er vor, Biodiversität als globale Ressource zu behandeln, die geschützt und indiziert werden muss [1]. Biodiversität als Begriff existiert nicht nur in der Biologie oder Ökologie, sondern zielte schon früh darauf ab, insbesondere politische Entscheidungsträger:innen und die breite Öffentlichkeit anzusprechen. Von der ersten Erwähnung an wurde die biologische Vielfalt mit dem Schutz und der Erhaltung der Natur in Verbindung gebracht [2, 3, 4]. Der Begriff der Biodiversität hat eine Vielzahl von Definitionen. Seit der Umweltkonferenz der Vereinten Nationen (UN) in Rio de Janeiro im Jahr 1992 wird biologische Vielfalt als die „Variabilität unter den lebenden Organismen jeglicher Herkunft, darunter unter anderem Land-, Meeres und sonstige aquatische Ökosysteme und die ökologischen Komplexe, zu denen sie gehören. Dies umfasst die Vielfalt innerhalb der Art, zwischen den Arten und die Vielfalt der Ökosysteme“ bezeichnet [5, 6]. Das Millennium Ecosystem Assessment (MEA) versteht unter Biodiversität die „Vielfalt des Lebens auf der Erde“, die die „Vielfalt aller Organismen, seien es Pflanzen, Tiere oder Mikroorganismen, die Vielfalt innerhalb und zwischen Arten und Populationen sowie die Vielfalt der Ökosysteme“ umfasst [7].

Die Intaktheit der Biodiversität ist ein entscheidender Faktor für das Funktionieren jedes globalen Ökosystems. Ein gesunder Zustand der Biodiversität ist nicht nur notwendig, um Nährstoffkreisläufe und abiotische Flüsse am Laufen zu halten, sondern auch um die Bereitstellung von Ökosystemdienstleistungen sicherzustellen. Der Verlust von Ökosystemleistungen hat aller Wahrscheinlichkeit nach negative Auswirkungen auf die menschliche Gesundheit.

[1] Wilson (1988): Wilson, E.O. 1988. Biodiversity. Washington (DC) : National Academies Press (US), 1988. ISBN: 0-309-03739-5
[2] Nentwig et al.
(2007): Nentwig, W., Bacher, S. und Brandl, R. 2007. Ökologie Kompakt. Berlin Heidelberg : Springer Verlag, 2007. ISBN: 978-3827418760
[3] Heinrichs, et al.  (2014): Heinrichs, H. und Michelsen, G. 2014. Nachhaltigkeitswissenschaften. Berlin Heidelberg : Springer Verlag, 2014. ISBN: 978-3642251115
[4] Härdtle (2002): Härdtle, W. 2002. Studium der Umweltwissenschaften: Naturwissenschaften. Berlin Heidelberg : Springer Verlag, 2002. ISBN: 978-3540410829
[5] CBD (2005):
CBD. 2005. Handbook of the Convention on Biological Diversity. Montreal : Secretariat of the Convention on Biological Diversity, 2005. ISBN: 92-9225-011-6.
[6] UNEP (1992):
UNEP. 1992. Convention on biological diversity: Text and annexes. Geneva : UNEP, 1992.
[7] MEA (2005):
MEA, Millennium Ecosystem Assessment. 2005. Ecosystems & human well-being – synthesis. Washington : Island Press, 2005.

Gesellschaftliche Werthaltungen

Gesellschaftliche Werthaltungen zu Biodiversität und Lebensmittelproduktion und dem Bewusstsein für den Zusammenhang von Lebensmittelproduktion und Biodiversität in Deutschland zu erfassen, ist Ziel dieses Forschungsmoduls.

Wirkungsabschätzung Biodiversität

Ziel ist es, die Wirkungsabschätzung von Biodiversität in der Ökobilanz praxisnah zu optimieren und um diffuse Effekte sowie aquatische Biodiversität zu ergänzen.

Biodiversität in Unternehmen

Gemeinsam mit den Unternehmen FRoSTA AG, Alfred Ritter GmbH & Co. KG und Seeberger GmbH wird in Reallaboren erarbeitet, wie Auswirkungen von Unternehmens- und Produktionsprozessen auf Biodiversität entlang der Wertschöpfungskette von Lebensmitteln besser erfasst und in Entscheidungen berücksichtigt werden können.

Transdisziplinäre Integration

Das Wissen aus den drei Forschungsmodulen zusammenzuführen und gemeinsam mit den Reallaborunternehmen und weiteren Unternehmen u.a. im Arbeitskreis Biodiversität weiterzuentwickeln, ist das Ziel der transdisziplinären Integration.

Formative Evaluation

Das Forschungsvorhaben BioVal wird fortlaufend evaluiert, um sicherzustellen, dass die transdisziplinäre Integration gelingt und Wirkung entfaltet.

Neuigkeiten

Lieferant:innenbesuch mit Seeberger

Unkategorisiert
Dr. Ulrike Eberle hat gemeinsam mit Isabell Schäfer und Nadine Kellner (Projektpartner:innen, Seeberger GmbH) einen Lieferanten in Spanien besucht. Ziel des Besuches war es, bereits bestehende Maßnahmen zur Förderung von…

Integrationsworkshop Hamburg 09. & 10. April 2024

Unkategorisiert
Hinter den Kulissen des BioVal-Integrationsworkshops Letzte Woche öffnete FRoSTA in Hamburg seine Türen für unseren neuesten BioVal-Integrationsworkshop. Das gesamte Projektkonsortium aus Wissenschaft und Praxis kam zusammen, um die Fortschritte seit…